no image

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasyevich (1915-1992) - graphic artist, illustrator, member of the Union of Artists of the USSR, Honored Artist of the RSFSR (1965), the first chairman of the Magadan branch of the Union of Artists of the RSFSR. Dmitry Afanasyevich Bryukhanov was born on October 20, 1915 at the Shumikha station of the Kamennaya Volost of the Chelyabinsk district of the Orenburg province, now a city, the administrative center of the Shumikha district of the Kurgan region. Father, Afanasy Nikolaevich Bryukhanov, was an employee of an insurance company, mother, Praskovya Fedorovna, a teacher of a public school. When he was eight years old, his family moved to Novosibirsk. At school, the boy's talent in the field of drawing was noticed by the teacher Yakov Safonov, a graduate of the St. Petersburg Academy of Arts. Under the guidance of Safonov, Dmitry Bryukhanov, even before leaving school, began to study at the Proletkult art studio at the graphic department. The works of the young artist were exhibited at the exhibitions of the Novosibirsk branch of Proletkult.

After graduating from school, in 1931, he entered the evening department of the Siberian Planning Institute. At the same time he worked as an artist in the Novosibirsk Regional House of Arts («Kraydisk»). In the summer of 1932, together with the propaganda team of Krydisk, he made a trip along the Ob, during which the artist made many studies and sketches, which he later used in further work. In the agitation brigade, he designed the wall newspaper «Crocodile on the Putin», prepared the scenery for performances and even acted in them as an actor. Since 1933 Dmitry Bryukhanov became an artist in the editorial office of the youth newspaper Bolshevik Smena. Also, drawings and caricatures of his work appeared on the pages of the magazine «Siberian Lights», newspapers «Soviet Siberia» and «Rural Truth». He was arrested on false charges and sentenced to 10 years in labor camps. On June 15, 1937, he arrived in Magadan on the Kulu steamer.

After his release in September 1948, he worked in several regional geological exploration departments of Dalstroy, and then returned to work as an artist. Rehabilitated. In 1956, the book «Tales of the Peoples of the North-East» with his illustrations was published, which became the beginning of work in the field of book illustration. From the very first creative steps Dmitry Bryukhanov was attracted by fabulous and fantastic motives.
This was reflected in his active work in book graphics, especially when creating illustrations for fairy tales.

Art critic V.I.Kandyba in his essay on the history of the fine arts of the Magadan region writes:

«The main achievements of the artist are connected with book graphics. Linocut, black ink, gouache - these are the techniques of his work. A clear selection - only necessary and nothing superfluous, the ascetic contrast of black and white is his favorite pictorial technique.»

In 1958 he became a candidate member of the Union of Artists of the RSFSR. He makes a trip to the House of Creativity of the Union of Artists, where he meets the prominent master of Russian book illustration Vladimir Favorsky, as well as his students Guriy Zakharov and Illarion Golitsyn, and studies their creative method. In the late 1950s, the artist studied the technique of linocut, and it soon took one of the leading places in his work. In 1960, together with sculptors Mikhail Rakitin and Kim In Ho, the first artists of Magadan became members of the Union of Artists of the USSR. Soon, the number of Magadan artists and folk artists of the Chukotka bone carving craft who entered the Union of Artists reached the required limit of ten, and in Magadan it became possible to create a branch of the Union of Artists of the USSR. It arose after the constituent assembly on April 27, 1962. Dmitry Bryukhanov became the first chairman of the Magadan branch of the Union of Artists.

He was a delegate to the Third Congress of Artists of the USSR (1968), chairman of the regional art council, a member of the art councils of the Magadan book publishing house and the Magadan art-production workshops of the Art Fund of the RSFSR, was a permanent member of the exhibition committees of zonal and regional exhibitions. His works were published in the Magadan literary and artistic almanac «In the Far North». In 1960, the works of D. Bryukhanov and M. M. Rakitin, Magadan artists were first presented at the exhibition «Soviet Russia» in Moscow. In 1965 he was awarded the title of Honored Artist of the RSFSR.

Mastering the technique of linocut, as well as linocut with watercolors, influenced the compositional techniques of Dmitry Bryukhanov, defining the characteristic appearance of his work.
One of the early works of D. Bryukhanov in the field of book graphics - the book «Tales of the Peoples of the North-East» (Magadan: Magadan Book Publishing House, 1956) - was presented at the 1957 International Book Exhibition in Leipzig, where she received an exhibition diploma. This was followed by the books Northern Animal Tales (1957), Eskimo Tales (1958), Even Folklore (1958), Chauchu Tales (1959) and others.
Many works reflect the motives of the folklore of the peoples of the north-east of Russia: Chukchi, Yakuts, Evens, Eskimos. In addition to folklore works, he also illustrated books by author's fairy tales (Odoevsky, Pogorelsky, Andersen, Pushkin, Perrot, A. Tolstoy, J. Harris) and other literary works. The artist actively participated in the preparation of publications in the Chukchi and Even languages. With illustrations by Dmitry Bryukhanov, an autobiography novel by Yuri Rytkheu «The Time of Snow Melting» was published - the first novel in the Chukchi language. Dmitry Bryukhanov also illustrated other books by Rytkheu, both in the original language and in Russian translation. Dmitry Bryukhanov also designed the book of the Chukchi poet Viktor Kelgut «My Chukotka» (1958), the poet Tynetegin «Tales of the Chauchu» (1959, 1982), «Lymnylte Eygyskykin» («Chukotka tales», 1963), translations of the works of A. Tolstoy into the Chukchi language «The Golden Key, or the Adventures of Buratino» (1959), V. Mayakovsky «What is good and what is bad» (1980), Mansi writer Yuvan Shestalov «Blue wind of touch» (1970). Among the books in the Even language, Dmitry Bryukhanov illustrated the book by the founder of the Even literature Nikolai Tarabukin «My Life» (1959, 1982). Acquaintance with the cultures of the peoples of the North was reflected not only in the images that appeared in the works of Dmitry Bryukhanov, but also in the methods of his work. Studying the traditional Chukchi carving and engraving on the walrus tusk (the so-called Chukchi carved bone), the artist noted the characteristic techniques of the Chukchi craftsmen and then applied them himself. Among such techniques: construction of a general narrative composition from separate fragments, perspective according to the principle «what's next, then higher», circular composition, a slow, but internally tense rhythm of the drawing. The artist used these techniques for the first time in the second version of illustrations for the author's biographical novel Rytkheu (1960). At the same time, while working on the publication of Russian folk tales in the Chukchi language (1961), the artist uses typical techniques of Russian art, including ornament from folk costumes.
And in the type design he uses elements of Old Russian ligature. The books illustrated by him were published in regional publishing houses (Magadan, Rostov-on-Don), as well as in the capital («Malysh»). In total, the artist has designed more than 60 books, many of which have been reprinted several times.

In addition to book graphics, he worked in other types of fine arts. In the late 1950s - early 1960s, the artist, commissioned by the Magadan Regional Museum of Local Lore, created a series of graphic drawings dedicated to the history of Chukotka. In easel graphics he owns the works «Hunting for Walruses», «Gathering Roots», «Shaman», «Northern Dance», «Running Deer», «Northern Lights», «Chukotka Fairy Tale» and others.
The artist also created a number of sketches for walrus tusk carving on folklore subjects. They were approved by the masters of the Uelen bone carving workshop named after Vukola, and the famous carver Tukkay created a series of sculptures on their basis.

Participation in exhibitions:

  • Magadan regional art exhibitions from 1956 to 1970.
  • Zonal exhibitions «Soviet Far East» (Khabarovsk, 1964; Vladivostok, 1967; Ulan-Ude, 1969), «Soviet South7 (Ordzhonikidze, 1974).
  • Republican exhibitions «Soviet Russia» (1960, 1965, 1967, 1970, 1975).
  • Exhibition of prints by Izogiz (1963)
  • All-Union Exhibition of Book Graphics. Moscow (1957)
  • All-Union Art Exhibition (1961, 1970)
  • Exhibition of Achievements of the National Economy of the USSR (1960)
  • Exhibition of illustrations for the Soviet children's book (Romania, Czechoslovakia, FRG, 1968)
  • International Exhibition «Expo-70 [en]», Osaka (1970)
  • Leipzig Book Fair (1969).

In 1976 he moved to live in the Moscow region. He died on February 12, 1992 in the Moscow region. His works are kept in a number of Russian museums.

Gallery of patterns
lot 60. «The Fox and the Hare», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 60. «The Fox and the Hare»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 9

color linocut, 30x35.5 cm, sheet: 40x43 cm, 1983

Start price: 500 

lot 153. «Boat», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 153. «Boat»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 9

linocut, 28x37 cm, sheet: 37.5x48 cm, 1970s

Start price: 1 000 

lot 154. «Fishing», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 154. «Fishing»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 9

linocut, 27x37 cm, sheet: 37x49 cm, 1978

Start price: 1 000 

It is sold for: 1 000 
lot 197. «Spring», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 197. «Spring»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 10

linocut, 26x31 cm, sheet: 36x43 cm, 1970s

Start price: 1 000 

lot 198. «Autumn», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 198. «Autumn»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 10

linocut, 24x30 cm, sheet: 33x43 cm, 1970s

Start price: 1 000 

lot 199. «With a catch», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 199. «With a catch»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 10

linocut, 24x32 cm, sheet: 34x43.5 cm, 1970s

Start price: 1 000 

lot 88. «And the deer are better!», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 88. «And the deer are better!»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 11

linocut, 37x48 cm, sheet: 49x58 cm, 1978

Start price: 1 500 

lot 89. «Running deer», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 89. «Running deer»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 11

linocut, 33x55 cm, sheet: 43x62 cm, 1970s

Start price: 1 500 

lot 174. «At night», Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich.

lot 174. «At night»

Bryukhanov Dmitry Afanasevich

Аукцион № 12

linocut, 26.5x28 cm, sheet: 35x38.5 cm, 1965

Start price: 1 500 

1

no image

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич (1915—1992) - художник-график, иллюстратор, член Союза художников СССР, заслуженный художник РСФСР (1965), первый председатель магаданского отделения Союза художников РСФСР. Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич родился 20 октября 1915 года на станции Шумиха Каменной волости Челябинского уезда Оренбургской губернии, ныне город, административный центр Шумихинского района Курганской области. Отец, Афанасий Николаевич Брюханов, был служащим страхового общества, мать, Прасковья Федоровна, учительницей народной школы. Когда ему было восемь лет, его семья переехала в Новосибирск. В школе одаренность мальчика в области рисования заметил учитель Яков Сафонов, выпускник Петербургской академии художеств. Под руководством Сафонова Дмитрий Брюханов еще до окончания школы стал заниматься в художественной студии Пролеткульта на графическом отделении. Работы юного художника экспонировались на выставках Новосибирского отделения Пролеткульта.

После окончания школы, в 1931 году, поступил на вечернее отделение Сибирского планового института. Одновременно работал художником Новосибирского Краевого Дома искусств («Крайдиск»). Летом 1932 года с агитбригадой Крайдиска совершил поездку по Оби, в ходе неё художник сделал множество этюдов и набросков, которые потом использовал в дальнейшей работе. В агитбригаде оформлял стенгазету «Крокодил на путине», готовил декорации спектаклей и даже выступал в них в качестве актера. С 1933 года Дмитрий Брюханов стал художником в редакции молодёжной газеты «Большевистская смена». Также рисунки и карикатуры его работы появлялись на страницах журнала «Сибирские огни», газет «Советская Сибирь» и «Сельская правда». Был арестован по ложному обвинению и осужден на 10 лет лагерей. 15 июня 1937 года прибыл в Магадан на пароходе «Кулу».
После освобождения в сентябре 1948 года, работал в нескольких районных геологоразведочных управлениях Дальстроя, а потом вернулся к работе художника. Реабилитирован. В 1956 году издается книга «Сказки народов Северо-Востока» с его иллюстрациями, которая становится началом работы в области книжной иллюстрации. С самых первых творческих шагов Дмитрия Брюханова привлекали сказочные и фантастические мотивы.
Это нашло отражение в его активной работе в книжной графике, особенно при создании иллюстраций к сказкам.

Искусствовед В. И. Кандыба в очерке истории изобразительного искусства Магаданской области пишет:

«Основные достижения художника связаны с книжной графикой. Линогравюра, черная тушь, гуашь — вот техника его работ. Четкий отбор — только необходимое и ничего лишнего, аскетическая контрастность черного и белого — его излюбленный изобразительный прием.»

С 1958 года становится кандидатом в члены Союза художников РСФСР. Совершает поездку в Дом творчества Союза художников, где знакомится с видным мастером отечественной книжной иллюстрации Владимиром Фаворским, а также его учениками Гурием Захаровым и Илларионом Голицыным, изучает их творческий метод. В конце 1950-х художник изучает технику линогравюры, и она вскоре занимает одно из ведущих мест в его творчестве. В 1960 году вместе со скульпторами Михаилом Ракитиным и Ким Ин Хо первыми из художников Магадана стал членами Союза художников СССР. Вскоре число магаданских художников и народных художников чукотского косторезного промысла, вошедших в Союз художников, достигло необходимого предела в десять человек, и в Магадане стало возможным создать отделение Союза художников СССР. Оно возникло после учредительного собрания 27 апреля 1962 года. Первым председателем магаданского отделения Союза художников стал Дмитрий Брюханов.

Был делегатом Третьего съезда художников СССР (1968), председателем областного художественного совета, членом художественных советов Магаданского книжного издательства и Магаданских художественно-производственных мастерских Художественного фонда РСФСР, являлся постоянным членом выставочных комитетов зональных и областных выставок. Его работы публиковались в магаданском литературно-художественном альманахе «На Севере Дальнем». В 1960 году работами Д. Брюханова и М. М. Ракитина магаданские художники впервые были представлены на выставке «Советская Россия» в Москве. В 1965 году ему присвоено звание заслуженного художника РСФСР.

Освоение техники линогравюры, а также линогравюры с подцветкой акварелью повлияло и на композиционные приемы Дмитрия Брюханова, определив характерный облик его творчества.
Одна из ранних работ Д. Брюханова в области книжной графики — книга «Сказки народов Северо-Востока» (Магадан: Магаданское книжное издательство, 1956) — была представлена на Международной выставке книги 1957 года в Лейпциге, где получила диплом выставки. Затем последовали книги «Северные сказки о животных» (1957), «Эскимосские сказки» (1958), «Эвенский фольклор» (1958), «Сказки чаучу» (1959) и другие.
Во многих работах отражены мотивы фольклора народов северо-востока России: чукчей, якутов, эвенов, эскимосов. Помимо фольклорных произведений он иллюстрировал также книги авторские сказки (Одоевского, Погорельского, Андерсена, Пушкина, Перро, А. Толстого, Дж. Харриса) и другие литературные произведения. Художник активно участвовал в подготовке изданий на чукотском и эвенском языках. С иллюстрациями Дмитрия Брюханова был издан роман-автобиография Юрия Рытхэу «Время таяния снегов» — первый роман на чукотском языке. Также Дмитрий Брюханов иллюстрировал другие книги Рытхэу, как на языке оригинала, так и в русском переводе. Дмитрием Брюхановым также оформлены книга чукотского поэта Виктора Кельгута «Моя Чукотка» (1958), поэта Тынэтэгина «Сказки чаучу» (1959, 1982), «Лымнылтэ эйгыскыкин» («Чукотские сказки», 1963), переводы на чукотский язык произведений А. Толстого «Золотой ключик, или Приключения Буратино» (1959), В. Маяковского «Что такое хорошо и что такое плохо» (1980), мансийского писателя Ювана Шесталова «Синий ветер каслания» (1970). Среди книг на эвенском языке Дмитрием Брюхановым иллюстрирована книга основоположника эвенской литературы Николая Тарабукина «Моя жизнь» (1959, 1982). Знакомство с культурами народов Севера отразилось не только в образах, которые появлялись в работах Дмитрия Брюханова, но также и в методах его творчества. Изучая традиционную чукотскую резьбу и гравировку по моржовому клыку (т. н. чукотская резная кость), художник отметил характерные приемы чукотских мастеров и потом сам применил их. Среди таких приемов: построение из отдельных фрагментов общей повествовательной композиции, перспектива по принципу «что дальше, то выше», круговая композиция, замедленный, но внутренне напряженный ритм рисунка. Эти приемы художник впервые использовал во втором варианте иллюстраций к автобиографическому роману Рытхэу (1960). В то же время, работая над изданием русский народных сказок на чукотском языке (1961), художник использует характерные приемы русского искусства, включая орнамент из народного костюма.
А в шрифтовом оформлении использует элементы древнерусской вязи. Иллюстрированные им книги выходили в областных издательствах (Магадан, Ростов-на-Дону), а также в столичных («Малыш»). Всего художник оформил более 60 книг, многие из которых неоднократно переиздавались. 

Помимо книжной графики работал в других видах изобразительного искусства. В конце 1950-х — начале 1960-х художник по заказу Магаданского областного краеведческого музея создал серию графических рисунков, посвященных истории Чукотки. В станковой графике ему принадлежат работы «Охота на моржей», «Сборщицы кореньев», «Шаман», «Северный танец», «Бегущие олени», «Северное сияние», «Чукотская сказка» и другие.
Также художник создал ряд эскизов для резьбы по моржовому клыку на фольклорные сюжеты. Они были одобрены мастерами Уэленской косторезной мастерской имени Вукола, и знаменитый резчик Туккай на их основе создал серию скульптур.

Участие в выставках:

  • Магаданские областные художественные выставки с 1956 по 1970 год.
  • Зональные выставки «Советский Дальний Восток» (Хабаровск, 1964; Владивосток, 1967; Улан-Удэ, 1969), «Советский Юг» (Орджоникидзе, 1974).
  • Республиканские выставки «Советская Россия» (1960, 1965, 1967, 1970, 1975).
  • Выставка эстампа Изогиза (1963)
  • Всесоюзная выставка книжной графики. Москва (1957)
  • Всесоюзная художественная выставка (1961, 1970)
  • Выставка достижений народного хозяйства СССР (1960)
  • Выставка иллюстраций к советской детской книге (Румыния, Чехословакия, ФРГ, 1968)
  • Международная выставка «Экспо-70[en]», Осака (1970)
  • Лейпцигская книжная ярмарка (1969).

В 1976 году перехал жить в Подмосковье. Умер 12 февраля 1992 года в Московской области. Его работы хранятся в ряде российских музеев.

Галерея работ
lot 60. «Лиса и заяц», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 60. «Лиса и заяц»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 9

цветная линогравюра, 30х35.5 см, лист: 40х43 см, 1983

Стартовая цена: 500 

lot 153. «Катер», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 153. «Катер»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 9

линогравюра, 28х37 см, лист: 37.5х48 см, 1970-е

Стартовая цена: 1 000 

lot 154. «На рыбалке», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 154. «На рыбалке»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 9

линогравюра, 27х37 см, лист: 37х49 см, 1978

Стартовая цена: 1 000 

Продано за: 1 000 
lot 197. «Весна», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 197. «Весна»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 10

линогравюра, 26х31 см, лист: 36х43 см, 1970-е

Стартовая цена: 1 000 

lot 198. «Осень», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 198. «Осень»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 10

линогравюра, 24х30 см, лист: 33х43 см, 1970-е

Стартовая цена: 1 000 

lot 199. «С уловом», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 199. «С уловом»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 10

линогравюра, 24х32 см, лист: 34х43.5 см, 1970-е

Стартовая цена: 1 000 

lot 88. «А олени лучше!», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 88. «А олени лучше!»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 11

линогравюра, 37х48 см, лист: 49х58 см, 1978

Стартовая цена: 1 500 

lot 89. «Бегущие олени», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 89. «Бегущие олени»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 11

линогравюра, 33х55 см, лист: 43х62 см, 1970-е

Стартовая цена: 1 500 

lot 174. «В ночном», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 174. «В ночном»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 12

линогравюра, 26.5х28 см, лист: 35х38.5 см, 1965

Стартовая цена: 1 500 

«Олени», Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич.

lot 155. «Олени»

Брюханов Дмитрий Афанасьевич

Аукцион № 19

линогравюра, лист: 39.5х31 см, оттиск: 29х19 см, 1960-е

Стартовая цена: 1 000 

1