no image

Bill Alexandra Feliksovna

Alexandra Feliksovna Bill March 5 (18), 1914 (Tomsk) - February 16, 1992 (Moscow), schedule. In 1939, Bill graduated from the Moscow Institute of Fine Arts. She was lucky to learn from talented teachers. Painting was taught by K. Istomin and A. Goncharov, drawing - P. Pavlinov and M. Rodionov. Especially memorable for future schedules were classes with V. Favorsky. They went beyond the composition course, which he taught at the institute. Favorsky tried to form a deep artistic worldview among his students, to instill in them an honest, sincere and strict attitude to art, and a high demand on himself. The school, held by an outstanding master, largely determined the further path of the creative development of the artist and many of her study friends, including V. Goryaev, A. Livanov (husband A. Bill), L. Ilyina, V. Domogatsky, A. Zhurov .

Upon graduation, Bill performs his first work in a book illustration for the Detgiz Publishing House. But art was interrupted by the war.

The active formation of the artist’s creative personality falls on the first post-war decades. Since 1946, the Bill has been constantly acting as an illustrator of the book. Among her first serious works - woodcuts to the play by A. N. Ostrovsky «The Poor Bride» (1946), to the works of A. S. Pushkin (1949), M. Rylsky (1950), M. Yu. Lermontov (1952), A Mitskevich (1955) and other authors. Since 1951, her works are regularly exhibited at all-Union exhibitions.

In each new work of Bill, her graphic skill was improved more and more, there was a desire not only to «illustrate» plot conflicts, but to express the very spirit of a literary work.

Organically, the Bill toward the work of the illustrator was influenced by the principles of book decoration, learned from V. Tabor. The appeal to them with the greatest force was determined in the Soviet book graphics at the turn of the 1950s and 60s.

In the illustrations made in the 1960s, the artist already appears as a mature master, confidently mastering the technique, form, composition. The engravings for Stendhal's «Parma Monastery» (1959), «Tales of Italy» by M. Gorky (1964), and the «Lyrics» of S. Marshak (1966) are marked by the depth of imaginative solutions and the integrity of their execution. Along with woodcuts and linocuts in the illustrations of these years, A. Bill turns to the watercolor and ink technique (as, for example, in the book by S. Quasimodo «My Country is Italy»), actively introduces color.

The undoubted success of A. Bill was the work on the design of the poem by R. Rozhdestvensky «Requiem» (1970). The book is original in layout, and although its format is small, the illustrations for it are full of organic monumentality, vivid and convincing expression of images.

Bill has been engaging in easel engraving since the early 1960s. In large format sheets, made mainly in the technique of linocut, and sometimes woodcut, the journalistic talent of the artist is clearly revealed. The names of these sheets themselves - «Song of the World» (1964), «No to War!», «Africa Fights» (1970-1975) - testify to the civic orientation of these works. Bill's journalistic sheets are characterized by a generalized, often expressive imaginative solution, clearly visible both in engravings of the Requiem series, and in the sheets of the triptych «For Peace!», And in the original composition «In Memory of the Slovak National Uprising» (1973-1974), awarded the Grand - at the Fifth International Biennale of woodcuts in Vanska Wistrica (Czechoslovakia, 1974). The rhythmic and color scheme, the monumentality of the performance bring notes of heroic-dramatic sound into the figurative system of these works, which are developing in a passionate appeal for the fight against war.

The journalistic theme is central, but not the only one in the easel work of A. Bill. Among her linocuts are the portrait series «Russian Women» (1974), the genre series «Bathing» (1975-1976), and a number of color prints of memoirs about trips around the country and abroad.

The artist constantly turns to watercolors and pencil drawings and creates sheets that conquer with technical relaxedness, immediacy of vision. They are simultaneously very collected, integral in composition. Everything in them is imbued with the quivering life of space, the internal mobility of seemingly animated forms. This is true for nature paintings captured by the artist, and for architectural and even industrial landscapes.

Color drawings can be called the undoubted success of the artist. They vividly demonstrate the originality of her coloristic vision and an original approach to solving technical problems. Although the palette of these drawings is often built on two or three colors, they with amazing fullness convey the richness of the colors of the world. The beginning of this attitude to color was laid by Bill while still studying with K. Istomin.

Bill's work in easel and book graphics has been repeatedly praised at all-Union and international competitions, awarded honorary diplomas of the Union of Artists and the USSR Academy of Arts. Among them, one of the latest works by A. Bill is the masterfully designed volume «Poets of the Pushkin Pore» (1986). Among the artist’s new works are illustrations for a two-volume book of poems about the Great Patriotic War (1985), a cycle of large two-color woodcuts based on military poetry, a series of colored linocuts “In Tajikistan” and drawings «In the Pushkin Nature Reserve».

Gallery of patterns
It is sold for: 1 500 
lot 43. «Sketch for the cover of M. Gorky's book «Tales of Italy»», Bill Alexandra Feliksovna.

lot 43. «Sketch for the cover of M. Gorky's book «Tales of Italy»»

Bill Alexandra Feliksovna

Аукцион № 3

ink, watercolor on paper, 1963

Start price: 1 500 

It is sold for: 1 500 
lot 73. «Sketch of an illustration for the book by S. Mstislavsky «Rook Bird of Spring»», Bill Alexandra Feliksovna.

lot 73. «Sketch of an illustration for the book by S. Mstislavsky «Rook Bird of Spring»»

Bill Alexandra Feliksovna

Аукцион № 4

paper, ink, feather, watercolor. 21.5x15.5 cm, 1946

Start price: 1 500 

lot 94. «Cover sketch for K. Trenev’s book «Spring Love»», Bill Alexandra Feliksovna.

lot 94. «Cover sketch for K. Trenev’s book «Spring Love»»

Bill Alexandra Feliksovna

Аукцион № 5

ink, watercolor on paper, 20.2x13.5 cm, 1968

Start price: 2 000 

1

no image

Билль Александра Феликсовна

Александра Феликсовна Билль 5 (18) марта 1914 (Томск) — 16 февраля 1992 (Москва), график. В 1939 году Билль окончила Московский институт изобразительных искусств. Ей посчастливилось учиться у талантливых педагогов. Живопись преподавали К.Истомин и А. Гончаров, рисунок - П. Павлинов и М.Родионов. Особенно памятными для будущих графиков были занятия с В.Фаворским. Они выходили за рамки курса композиции, который он читал в институте. Фаворский старался сформировать у своих учеников глубокое художественное мировоззрение, воспитать в них честное, искреннее и строгое отношение к искусству, высокую требовательность к себе. Школа, пройденная у выдаю щегося мастера, во многом определила дальнейший путь творческого развития художницы и многих ее товарищей по учебе, среди которых В.Горяев, А.Ливанов (муж А.Билль), Л.Ильина, В.Домогацкий, А.Журов.

По окончании института Билль выполняет свои первые работы в книжной иллюстрации для издательства «Детгиз». Но занятия искусством были прерваны войной.

Активное становление творческой индивидуальности художницы приходится на первые послевоенные десятилетия. Начиная с 1946 года Билль уже постоянно выступает как иллюстратор книги. Среди ее первых серьезных работ - ксилографии к пьесе А.Н.Островского «Бедная невеста» (1946), к произведениям А.С.Пушкина (1949), М.Рыльского (1950), М.Ю.Лермонтова (1952), А.Мицкевича (1955) и других авторов. С 1951 года ее произведения регулярно экспонируются на всесоюзных выставках.

В каждой новой работе Билль все более совершенствовалось ее графическое мастерство, ощущалось стремление не просто «проиллюстрировать» сюжетные коллизии, но выразить сам дух литературного произведения.

В органичном отношении Билль к работе иллюстратора сказывались принципы художественного оформления книги, усвоенные у В.Фаворского. Обращение к ним с наибольшей силой определилось в советской книжной графике на рубеже 1950-60-х годов.

В иллюстрациях, выполненных в 1960-е годы, художница выступает уже как зрелый мастер, уверенно владеющий техникой, формой, композицией. Гравюры к «Пармской обители» Стендаля (1959), «Сказкам об Италии» М.Горького (1964), «Лирике» С.Маршака (1966) отмечены глубиной образных решений, цельностью исполнения. Наряду с ксилографией и линогравюрой в иллюстрациях этих лет А.Билль обращается к технике акварели и туши (как, например, в книге С.Квазимодо "Моя страна Италия"), активно вводит цвет.

Несомненной удачей А.Билль стала работа по оформлению поэмы Р.Рождественского «Реквием» (1970). Книга оригинальна по макету, и хотя формат ее невелик, иллюстрации к ней исполнены органичной монументальности, яркой и убедительной экспрессии образов.

Станковой гравюрой Билль плодотворно занимается с начала 1960-х годов. В крупных по формату листах, выполненных преимущественно в технике линогравюры, а иногда ксилографии, ярко раскрывается публицистическое дарование художницы. Сами названия этих листов - «Песня мира» (1964), «Нет войне!», «Африка борется» (1970-1975) - свидетельствуют о гражданственной направленности этих произведений. Для публицистических листов Билль характерно обобщенное, нередко экспрессивное образное решение, ясно прослеживаемое и в гравюрах серии «Реквием», и в листах триптиха «За мир!», и в оригинальной композиции «Памяти Словацкого народного восстания» (1973-1974), удостоенной Гран-при на Пятой международной биеннале гравюры на дереве в Ванска-Вистрице (ЧССР, 1974). Ритмическое и цветовое решение, монументальность исполнения вносят в образный строй этих произведений ноты героико-драматического звучания, находящие развитие в страстном призыве к борьбе против войны.

Публицистическая тема - центральная, но не единственная в станковом творчестве А. Билль. Среди ее линогравюр - и портретный цикл «Русские женщины» (1974), и жанровая серия «Купание» (1975-1976), и целый ряд цветных гравюр-воспоминаний о поездках по стране и за рубеж.

Постоянно обращается художница к акварели и карандашному рисунку и создает листы, покоряющие технической раскованностью, непосредственностью видения. Они одновременно очень собранны, цельны по композиции. В них все пронизано трепетной жизнью пространства, внутренней подвижностью словно бы одушевленных форм. Это характерно и для картин природы, запечатленных художницей, и для архитектурных и даже индустриальных пейзажей.

Цветные рисунки можно назвать несомненной удачей художницы. Они ярко демонстрируют своеобразие ее колористического видения и оригинальный подход к решению технических задач. Хотя палитра этих рисунков строится часто на двух-трех цветах, они с удивительной полнотой передают богатство красок окружающего мира. Начало такого отношения к цвету было заложено у Билль еще во время учебы у К.Истомина.

Работы Билль в станковой и книжной графике не раз получали высокую оценку на всесоюзных и международных конкурсах, удостаивались почетных дипломов Союза художников и Академии художеств СССР. В их числе одна из последних работ А.Билль - мастерски оформленный том «Поэты пушкинской поры» (1986). Среди новых работ художницы - иллюстрации к двухтомнику стихов о Великой Отечественной войне (1985), цикл больших двухцветных гравюр на дереве по мотивам военной поэзии, серии цветных линогравюр «По Таджикистану» и рисунков «В Пушкинском заповеднике».

Галерея работ
Продано за: 1 500 
lot 43. «Эскиз для обложки книги М.Горького «Сказки об Италии»», Билль Александра Феликсовна.

lot 43. «Эскиз для обложки книги М.Горького «Сказки об Италии»»

Билль Александра Феликсовна

Аукцион № 3

бумага, тушь, акварель, 1963

Стартовая цена: 1 500 

Продано за: 1 500 
lot 73. «Эскиз иллюстрации к книге С.Мстиславского «Грач-птица весенняя»», Билль Александра Феликсовна.

lot 73. «Эскиз иллюстрации к книге С.Мстиславского «Грач-птица весенняя»»

Билль Александра Феликсовна

Аукцион № 4

бумага, тушь, перо, акварель. 21.5х15.5 см, 1946

Стартовая цена: 1 500 

lot 94. «Эскиз обложки к книге К.Тренева «Любовь Яровая»», Билль Александра Феликсовна.

lot 94. «Эскиз обложки к книге К.Тренева «Любовь Яровая»»

Билль Александра Феликсовна

Аукцион № 5

бумага, тушь, акварель, 20.2х13.5 см, 1968

Стартовая цена: 2 000 

1