no image

Zhitnikov Vadim Sergeevich

Zhitnikov Vadim Sergeevich (1927-2018) - Soviet painter, graphic artist, easel painter, book illustrator. Master of etching and ex-libris. Member of the Moscow Union of Artists since 1987. Vadim Sergeevich Zhitnikov was born on November 17, 1927 in the ancient city of Koloshe near Moscow. When he was two years old, his parents moved to Moscow, and for almost eighty years the artist's life has been associated with the ancient capital. Moscow has shaped the personality of the artist and has become one of the leading themes of his work. Vadim Zhitnikov received his artistic education at the Surikov Institute under the guidance of the outstanding masters of graphic art E.A. Kibrik and M.V. Matorina. In his student years, Vadim Zhitnikov met the wonderful artist Matvey Alekseevich Dobrov, from whom he received visual lessons in etching. It was in Dobrov's workshop that Vadim Zhitnikov became interested in the art of ex-libris.

Vadim Zhitnikov entered the world of ex-libris as an accomplished painter, easel painter, book illustrator. The Moscow club of ex-librisists contributed to the rapid development in a new genre of graphic art for him. In those years, the Club had a real creative atmosphere and the artists superbly stimulated the creative search for each other. A positive role was also played by the active support of well-known researchers and popularizers of the art of ex-libris - the famous scientist Vladimir Dorofeevich Korolyuk and the famous journalist Yakov Lazarevich Beilinson. They closely followed the work of Vadim Zhitnikov on the creation of the bookplate, actively stimulated it, and literally every new sign of the artist appeared on the pages of newspapers and magazines. In a short period of time, the name of the new Moscow ex-libris artist Vadim Zhitnikov became widely known in bibliophile and collector circles. From the very beginning, the ex-libris work of Vadim Zhitnikov was distinguished by the subtlety and poetry of the drawing, a rare variety of compositional solutions. The type compositions of the artist's ex-libris were also distinguished by their great ingenuity. Even then, Vadim Zhitnikov attached great importance to the work on the search for new fonts, perfectly understanding what the most important semantic and artistic function the font compositions should perform in each sign. Throughout his life, the artist has shown the inexhaustibility of imagination, not only in the search for unprecedented typefaces, but also in their very location on the field of each ex-libris composition. Vadim Zhitnikov's innovative work in the field of type has a special resonance in our time, when new generations of artists actually ignore this most important artistic element in the art of bookplate that largely determines the artist's entire intention. Thinking over each plot of the future ex-libris, Vadim Zhitnikov always decides in advance in what material he will embody the idea.

The artist knows how important it is to determine exactly in which technique a given plot will sound most successfully and most clearly show his artistic merits. For many years Vadim Zhitnikov preferred woodcut, linocut, engraving on plastic. Then all the artist's ideas were directed to the subtle and refined world of etching. Participant of Moscow, republican, all-Union and foreign exhibitions since 1955. For more than half a century of work on the creation of bookplates, Vadim Sergeevich Zhitnikov created 420 characters. They are so diverse and versatile that a unique mosaic appears in front of the mind's eye, unusually beautiful, harmonious and unforgettable. For many years he taught at the art school «In Memory of 1905», here he led a circle of graphics, and the engravings of his pupils became famous far beyond the borders of our capital. Thoughtful, sensitive teacher who raised a whole galaxy of talented graphic artists - K. Zinin, V. Potapov, O. Tuchina, A. Tambieva, M. Yakushin. The discoverer who developed the original engraving method - aquatint with drawing grain. The artist's works are kept in museums in Russia, Italy, China, Great Britain, Czech Republic, Ukraine, Finland, Brazil.

Gallery of patterns
«Arch of Titus», Zhitnikov Vadim Sergeevich.

lot 123. «Arch of Titus»

Zhitnikov Vadim Sergeevich

Аукцион № 15

etching, print: 21x14.5 cm, sheet: 34x29.5 cm, 1983

Start price: 4 500 

1

no image

Житников Вадим Сергеевич

Житников Вадим Сергеевич (1927-2018 гг.) — советский живописец, график, станковист, книжный иллюстратор. Мастер офорта и экслибриса. Член Московского союза художников с 1987 года. Вадим Сергеевич Житников родился 17 ноября 1927 года в старинном городе Подмосковья Колоше. Когда ему исполнилось два года, родители переехали в Москву, и вот уже почти восемьдесят лет жизнь художника связана с древней столицей. Москва сформировала личность художника и стала одной из ведущих тем его творчества. Художественное образование Вадим Житников получил в Суриковском институте под руководством выдающихся мастеров искусства графики Е.А. Кибрика и М.В. Маторина. В студенческие годы Вадим Житников познакомился с замечательным художником Матвеем Алексеевичем Добровым, у которого получил наглядные уроки офортного мастерства. Именно в мастерской Доброва Вадим Житников увлёкся искусством экслибриса.

В мир экслибриса Вадим Житников пришёл состоявшимся живописцем, станковистом, книжным иллюстратором. Быстрому становлению в новом для него жанре искусства графики способствовал Московский клуб экслибрисистов. В те годы в Клубе была настоящая творческая обстановка и художники великолепно стимулировали творческий поиск друг друга. Положительную роль сыграла и активная поддержка известных исследователей и популяризаторов искусства экслибриса — известного учёного Владимира Дорофеевича Королюка и знаменитого журналиста Якова Лазаревича Бейлинсона. Они пристально следили за работой Вадима Житникова над созданием экслибрисом, активно её стимулировали и буквально каждый новый знак художника появлялся на страницах газет и журналов. За короткий период времени имя нового московского творца экслибрисов Вадима Житникова стало широко известным в библиофильских и коллекционерских кругах. С самого начала экслибрисное творчество Вадима Житникова выделялось тонкостью и поэтичностью рисунка, редким разнообразием композиционных решений. Большой изобретательностью отличались и шрифтовые композиции экслибрисов художника. Уже тогда Вадим Житников придавал большое значение работе над поиском новых шрифтов, прекрасно понимая какую важнейшую смысловую и художественную функцию должны выполнять в каждом знаке шрифтовые композиции. Художник всю жизнь проявляет неисчерпаемость фантазии не только в поиске небывалых гарнитур шрифтов, но и в самом их расположении на поле каждой композиции экслибриса. Новаторская работа Вадима Житникова в области шрифта по-особому зазвучала в наше время, когда новые поколения художников фактически игнорируют этот важнейший, во многом определяющий весь замысел художника художественный элемент в искусстве экслибриса». Обдумывая каждый сюжет будущего экслибриса, Вадим Житников всегда заранее решает в каком материале будет воплощать замысел.

Художник знает как важно точно определить в какой технике наиболее удачно прозвучит данный сюжет и наиболее ярко проявит свои художественные достоинства. Много лет Вадим Житников отдавал предпочтение ксилографии, линогравюре, гравюре на пластике. Затем все замыслы художника были направлены в тонкий и изысканный мир офорта. Участник московских, республиканских, всесоюзных и зарубежных выставок с 1955 года. За более чем полвека работы над созданием экслибрисов Вадим Сергеевич Житников создал 420 знаков. Они столь разнообразны и разноплановы, что перед мысленным взором возникает единственная в своем роде мозаика, необыкновенно красивая, гармоничная и незабываемая. Многие годы он преподавал в художественном училище «Памяти 1905 года», здесь же вел кружок графики, и гравюры его питомцев получили известность далеко за пределами нашей столицы. Вдумчивый, чуткий педагог, вырастивший целую плеяду талантливых графиков – К.Зинина, В.Потапова, О.Тучину, А.Тамбиева, М.Якушина. Первооткрыватель, разработавший оригинальный метод гравирования – акватинта с рисующим зерном. Работы художника хранятся в музеях России, Италии, Китая, Великобритании, Чехии, Украины, Финляндии, Бразилии.

Галерея работ
«Арка Тита», Житников Вадим Сергеевич.

lot 123. «Арка Тита»

Житников Вадим Сергеевич

Аукцион № 15

офорт, оттиск: 21х14.5 см, лист: 34х29.5 см, 1983

Стартовая цена: 4 500 

«О колхозной семье и новой жизни на селе», Житников Вадим Сергеевич.

lot 59. «О колхозной семье и новой жизни на селе»

Житников Вадим Сергеевич

Аукцион № 21, часть 2

плакат оформлен на плотный картон, 57,5х44 см, 1970 г.

стихи А. Шкляринского, «Боевой карандаш»,  издательство «Художник РСФСР», 1971

Стартовая цена: 1 500 

1