Zhukov Nikolay Nikolaevich

Zhukov Nikolay Nikolaevich

Nikolai Nikolaevich Zhukov (1908-1973) - Soviet graphic artist and illustrator. Artistic director of the Studio of military artists named after M. B. Grekov (1943-1973). Corresponding Member of the Academy of Arts of the USSR (1949). People's Artist of the USSR (1963). Laureate of two Stalin Prizes of the second degree (1943, 1951). Member of the CPSU since 1945.

N. N. Zhukov was born on November 19 (December 2), 1908 in Moscow. Zhukov’s childhood and youth passed on the Yelets land. He received his primary art education at the Nizhny Novgorod Art and Industrial College. In 1928 he entered the A.P. Bogolyubov Saratov Art College, which he graduated in 1930. The beginning of creative activity dates back to 1932. During this period of time, Zhukov worked on book illustrations (Memoirs of Marx and Engels, etc.), and drew posters. Series of thematic drawings «V. I. Lenin» (1940) and «On Children» (1943-1968).

During the Great Patriotic War, Zhukov served as a soldier in artillery, then worked in the editorial office of an army newspaper on the Kalinin Front and at the same time as a war correspondent for Pravda. He creates front-line posters: «Defend Moscow!» (Co-authored with V. S. Klimashin), «Survive!», «Beat to death!», «They will not pass!». His drawings are published on the pages of the newspaper «Pravda»: «In visiting the defender of Stalingrad», «Thank you, dear!», «Autobat on a halt», «Forward!», «The heroic death of Liza Chaykina» and others. From the summer of 1943 to 1973, Zhukov was the artistic director of the Studio of military artists named after M. B. Grekov. 60 names of the Lipetsk region . Member of the CPSU (b) since 1945.

After the war, the Pravda newspaper sent Zhukov as its correspondent to the Nuremberg trials, where he made more than 400 drawings and met the writer B. N. Polev, and then illustrated his book «The Tale of a Real Man» from 1946 to 1950. In 1968 and in 1973 he visited Italy, where he worked on a graphic series of portraits of participants in the Italian Resistance movement. A significant part of the artist’s work is devoted to the life and work of V.I. Lenin, I.V. Stalin, and the Great Patriotic War. He painted beautiful watercolor portraits of children. The author of dozens of posters, many of which were awarded the Grand Prix at All-Union and international poster exhibitions.

He died on September 24, 1973. He was buried in Moscow at the Novodevichy cemetery (plot number 7).

Gallery of patterns
It is sold for: 6 000 
lot 44. «Conversation», Zhukov Nikolay Nikolaevich.

lot 44. «Conversation»

Zhukov Nikolay Nikolaevich

Аукцион № 3

V.I. Lenin and the peasant, paper, ink, pen, 14x20.5 cm, 1945

Start price: 6 000 

1

Жуков Николай Николаевич

Жуков Николай Николаевич

Николай Николаевич Жуков (1908—1973) — советский график и иллюстратор. Художественный руководитель Студии военных художников имени М. Б. Грекова (1943—1973). Член-корреспондент АХ СССР (1949). Народный художник СССР (1963). Лауреат двух Сталинских премий второй степени (1943, 1951). Член КПСС с 1945 года.

Н. Н. Жуков родился 19 ноября (2 декабря) 1908 года в Москве. Детские и юношеские годы Жукова прошли на Елецкой земле. Начальное художественное образование получил в Нижегородском художественно-промышленном техникуме. В 1928 году поступил в Саратовское художественное училище имени А. П. Боголюбова, которое закончил в 1930 году. Начало творческой деятельности относят к 1932 году. В этот период времени Жуков работал над книжными иллюстрациями («Воспоминания о Марксе и Энгельсе» и др.), рисовал плакаты. Серии тематических рисунков «В. И. Ленин» (1940) и «О детях» (1943—1968).

В годы Великой Отечественной войны Жуков служит солдатом в артиллерии, потом работает в редакции армейской газеты на Калининском фронте и одновременно военным корреспондентом «Правды». Создаёт фронтовые плакаты: «Отстоим Москву!» (в соавторстве с В. С. Климашиным), «Выстоять!», «Бей насмерть!», «Они не пройдут!…» На страницах газеты «Правда» публикуются его рисунки: «В гостях у защитника Сталинграда», «Спасибо, родная!», «Автобат на привале», «Вперёд!», «Героическая смерть Лизы Чайкиной» и другие. С лета 1943 года по 1973 год Жуков — художественный руководитель Студии военных художников имени М. Б. Грекова. 60 имен Липецкой области</ref>. Член ВКП(б) с 1945 года.

После войны газета «Правда» направила Жукова своим корреспондентом на Нюрнбергский процесс, где он сделал более 400 рисунков и познакомился с писателем Б. Н. Полевым, а потом иллюстрировал его книгу с 1946 по 1950 год «Повесть о настоящем человеке». В 1968 году и в 1973 году побывал в Италии, где работал на графической серией портретов участников итальянского движения Сопротивления. Значительная часть творчества художника посвящена жизни и деятельности В. И. Ленина, И. В. Сталина, Великой Отечественной войне. Рисовал прекрасные акварельные детские портреты. Автор десятков плакатов, многие из которых отмечены «Гран-при» на Всесоюзных и международных выставках плаката.

Умер 24 сентября 1973 года. Похоронен в Москве на Новодевичьем кладбище (участок № 7).

Галерея работ
Продано за: 6 000 
lot 44. «Беседа», Жуков Николай Николаевич.

lot 44. «Беседа»

Жуков Николай Николаевич

Аукцион № 3

В.И.Ленин и крестьянин, бумага, тушь, перо, 14х20.5 см, 1945

Стартовая цена: 6 000 

1