no image

Britanishsky Leo Romanovich

Leo Romanovich Britanishsky (passport patronymic Ruvimovich, actual Ruvelevich; July 22 (August 4) 1897, Kronstadt - May 8, 1971, Leningrad) - Soviet artist, painter and graphic artist, ceramist.

He studied in St. Petersburg (Petrograd) in the studio of M.D. Bernshtein, in the Drawing School of the Society for the Encouragement of Arts (early 1910s), took advice from P.P. Chistyakov (1913 - 1914), attended the Studio of S.M. Seydenberg ( 1915). He studied at the Central School of Technical Drawing of Baron A. L. Stieglitz (1915 - 1918), Petrograd State Free Artistic Training Workshops - Vhutemase (1918 - 1923) with K. S. Petrov-Vodkin. He took porcelain painting lessons from S.V. Chekhonin (1920 - 1921).

He lived in Petrograd (Leningrad). He worked as a guide in the Russian Museum (1926 - 1928). He painted landscapes, genre and allegorical compositions. In 1930 - the 50s was engaged in creativity sporadically; returned to active artistic activity in the late 1950s. The author of scenic series of landscapes: «Summer Garden» (1924), «Crimea» (1936), «Carpathians» (1959 - 1960); graphic series: «Dneprostroy» (1930 - 1931; charcoal, watercolor, ink), «Don Quixote» based on the novel by Cervantes (1963–1964; lithography), «Nose» according to the novel by N. V. Gogol (1965, lithography).

In 1941, he participated in the preparation of the Hermitage funds for evacuation to Sverdlovsk. In 1942 he left the blockade in Sverdlovsk. He participated in the painting of railway stations in Sverdlovsk and Nizhny Tagil (1943 - 1954). In 1945 he returned to Leningrad.

Since 1924 - participant of exhibitions (exhibition of young artists in Leningrad). Founding member and exhibitor of the Circle of Artists association (1927, 1928, 1929 - London); member of the society «October» (1928 - 1930), Leningrad Regional Union of Soviet Artists (since 1932). He was exhibited at the exhibitions: «Modern Leningrad Art Groups» (1928 - 1929), the 1st city exhibition of fine arts (1930), «Artists of the RSFSR for XV years» (1932), «Woman in Socialist Construction» (1934), works of Leningrad artists (1936, 1940, 1952, 1957, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964) in Leningrad; reporting works of artists seconded to the areas of industrial and collective farm construction (1931) in Moscow; an exhibition of paintings, sculptures and drawings by artists of the Omsk Region, dedicated to the 25th anniversary of the Great October Socialist Revolution in Omsk (1943); works of Sverdlovsk artists in Sverdlovsk (1945).

He taught at the art studios of the Leningrad Region (1930 - 1941), the Sverdlovsk Art College (1943-1944). Memorial exhibitions were held in Leningrad (1983, 1997), Pushkin (1991). Father of the poet V. L. Britanishsky.

Gallery of patterns
It is sold for: 4 600 
lot 3. «Illustration for Gogol’s novel «The Nose »», Britanishsky Leo Romanovich.

lot 3. «Illustration for Gogol’s novel «The Nose »»

Britanishsky Leo Romanovich

Аукцион № 3

lithograph, 60x42 cm, 1960s.

Start price: 4 600 

lot 11. «Don Quixote», Britanishsky Leo Romanovich.

lot 11. «Don Quixote»

Britanishsky Leo Romanovich

Аукцион № 4

lithograph, 60x48 cm, 1960s

Start price: 7 000 

1

no image

Британишский Лев Романович

Лев Романович Британишский (паспортное отчество Рувимович, действительное Рувелевич; 22 июля (4 августа) 1897, Кронштадт — 8 мая 1971, Ленинград) — советский художник, живописец и график, керамист.

Занимался в Санкт-Петербурге (Петрограде) в студии М. Д. Бернштейна, в Рисовальной школе Общества поощрения художеств (начало 1910-х), пользовался советами П. П. Чистякова (1913 – 1914), посещал Студию С. М. Зейденберга (1915). Учился в Центральном училище технического рисования барона А. Л. Штиглица (1915 – 1918), Петроградских государственных свободных художественных учебных мастерских — Вхутемасе (1918 – 1923) у К. С. Петрова-Водкина. Брал уроки росписи по фарфору у С. В. Чехонина (1920 – 1921).

Жил в Петрограде (Ленинграде). Работал экскурсоводом в Русском музее (1926 – 1928). Писал пейзажи, жанровые и аллегорические композиции. В 1930 – 50-е занимался творчеством эпизодически; возвратился к активной художественной деятельности в конце 1950-х. Автор живописных серий пейзажей: «Летний сад» (1924), «Крым» (1936), «Карпаты» (1959 – 1960); графических серий: «Днепрострой» (1930 – 1931; уголь, акварель, тушь), «Дон-Кихот» по роману Сервантеса (1963 – 1964; литография), «Нос» по повести Н. В. Гоголя (1965, литография).

В 1941 участвовал в подготовке фондов Эрмитажа к эвакуации в Свердловск. В 1942 выехал из блокады в Свердловск. Участвовал в росписи железнодорожных вокзалов в Свердловске и Нижнем Тагиле (1943 – 1954). В 1945 возвратился в Ленинград.

С 1924 — участник выставок (выставка молодых художников в Ленинграде). Член-учредитель и экспонент объединения «Круг художников» (1927, 1928, 1929 — Лондон); член общества «Октябрь» (1928 – 1930), ЛОССХ (с 1932). Экспонировался на выставках: «Современные ленинградские художественные группировки» (1928 – 1929), 1-й общегородской выставке изобразительных искусств (1930), «Художники РСФСР за XV лет» (1932), «Женщина в социалистическом строительстве» (1934), произведений ленинградских художников (1936, 1940, 1952, 1957, 1958, 1960, 1961, 1963, 1964) в Ленинграде; отчетных работ художников, командированных в районы индустриального и колхозного строительства (1931) в Москве; выставке живописи, скульптуры и графики художников Омской области, посвященной 25-й годовщине Великой Октябрьской Социалистической революции в Омске (1943); произведений свердловских художников в Свердловске (1945).

Преподавал в изостудиях Ленинградской области (1930 – 1941), Свердловском художественном училище (1943–1944). Мемориальные выставки состоялись в Ленинграде (1983, 1997), Пушкине (1991). Отец поэта В. Л. Британишского.

Галерея работ
Продано за: 4 600 
lot 3. «Иллюстрация к повести Гоголя «Нос»», Британишский Лев Романович.

lot 3. «Иллюстрация к повести Гоголя «Нос»»

Британишский Лев Романович

Аукцион № 3

литография, 60х42 см, 1960-е г.

Стартовая цена: 4 600 

lot 11. «Дон Кихот», Британишский Лев Романович.

lot 11. «Дон Кихот»

Британишский Лев Романович

Аукцион № 4

литография, 60х48 см, 1960-е

Стартовая цена: 7 000 

1