no image

Goncharov Andrey Dmitrievich

Andrei Dmitrievich Goncharov (1903-1979) - Soviet painter and graphic artist, book artist, theater artist, teacher. People's Artist of the RSFSR (1979). Corresponding Member of the Academy of Arts of the USSR (1973).

Andrei Dmitrievich Goncharov was born on June 9 (June 22), 1903 in Moscow. He took the first lessons in drawing in the private studio of K. F. Yuon. In 1917-1919 he studied at the 59th labor school. In 1918 he entered the second State Free Art Workshops (the former Moscow School of Painting, Sculpture and Architecture), where he first studied in the workshop of I.I. Mashkov, and then moved to the workshop of A.V. Shevchenko. In 1921 he entered the graphic faculty of the Higher art and technical workshops, where he studied the separation of woodcuts from V. A. Favorsky.

Since 1923, he constantly worked as an illustrator in newspapers, magazines, publishing houses (Izvestia CEC, Academia, Young Guard, GIHL, etc.). He participated in the design of the All-Russian Agricultural and Handicraft Industrial Exhibition. In 1924, he first exhibited at the First Discussion Exhibition of Associations of Active Revolutionary Art (Moscow, 54 Tverskaya St.) as part of the «group of three» with A. A. Deineka and Yu. I. Pimenov. Since 1925, a member of the Society of Easel Workers. In 1927 he graduated with honors from the graphic department of the Higher Artistic and Technical Workshops (Higher State Artistic and Technical Institute) with the title of graphic artist. He began teaching at the art studio of the Frunze department of public education in Moscow, at the ethnological faculty of Moscow State University named after MV Lomonosov. In 1928 he participated in the All-Union Printing Exhibition.

In 1929-1930 - Associate Professor of the Leningrad Higher State Artistic and Technical Institute. In 1930-1934 - Associate Professor of the Moscow Polygraphic Institute. In 1934-1938 - Associate Professor of the Moscow State Academic Art Institute named after V.I. Surikov.

During the Great Patriotic War (1941-1945) he served in the ranks of the Workers 'and Peasants' Red Army. He worked as a publishing editor and artist in the magazine «Front Humor» (edition of the 3rd Belorussian Front), and then as the chief artist of the exhibition «Political Work in Parts of the 3rd Belorussian Front».

In 1947-1948 he taught at the Moscow Central Art and Industrial College at the faculty of monumental painting. In 1948-1979 he taught at the Moscow Polygraphic Institute, where from 1950 to 1974 he headed the department of drawing and painting. In 1958, Goncharov was awarded the title of professor. In 1959, Goncharov created four main panels for the Soviet exhibition in New York. In 1960, the book «On the Art of Graphics» by A. D. Goncharov was published, and in 1964, the book «The Artist and the Book». In 1971-1979, Goncharov served as chairman of the jury of the All-Union annual competition «The Art of the Book». Corresponding Member of the Academy of Arts of the USSR (1973).

A. D. Goncharov died on June 6, 1979 in Moscow.

Gallery of patterns
lot 53. «Land of Soviets», Goncharov Andrey Dmitrievich.

lot 53. «Land of Soviets»

Goncharov Andrey Dmitrievich

Аукцион № 3

color woodcut, 7.5x14 cm, proof print, 1930s

Start price: 1 000 

lot 71. «Sketches of 3 drawings for the book by Federico Garcia Lorca «Selected Lyrics»», Goncharov Andrey Dmitrievich.

lot 71. «Sketches of 3 drawings for the book by Federico Garcia Lorca «Selected Lyrics»»

Goncharov Andrey Dmitrievich

Аукцион № 3

ink, watercolor on paper, in the owner’s folder, 1958

Start price: 6 000 

lot 59. «Illustration for «Faust»», Goncharov Andrey Dmitrievich.

lot 59. «Illustration for «Faust»»

Goncharov Andrey Dmitrievich

Аукцион № 4

woodcut, 14x9 cm, 1953

Start price: 1 500 

1

no image

Гончаров Андрей Дмитриевич

Андрей Дмитриевич Гончаров (1903—1979) — советский живописец и график, художник книги, театральный художник, педагог. Народный художник РСФСР (1979). Член-корреспондент АХ СССР (1973). 

Андрей Дмитриевич Гончаров родился 9 (22 июня) 1903 года в Москве. Брал первые уроки по рисунку в частной студии К. Ф. Юона. В 1917—1919 годах учился в 59-й трудовой школе. В 1918 году поступил во вторые Государственные свободные художественные мастерские (бывшее Московское училище живописи, ваяния и зодчества), где сначала занимался в мастерской И. И. Машкова, а затем перешел в мастерскую А. В. Шевченко. В 1921 году поступил на графический факультет Высших художественно технических мастерских, где учился по отделению гравюры на дереве у В. А. Фаворского.

С 1923 года постоянно работал иллюстратором в газетах, журналах, издательствах (Известия ЦИК, «Academia», «Молодая гвардия», ГИХЛ и др.). Участвовал в оформлении Всероссийской сельскохозяйственной и кустарно-промышленной выставки. В 1924 году впервые выставился на Первой дискуссионной выставке объединений активного революционного искусства (Москва, Тверская ул., 54) в составе «группы трех» с А. А. Дейнекой и Ю. И. Пименовым. С 1925 года член Общества станковистов. В 1927 году с отличием окончил графический факультет Высших художественно технических мастерских (Высший государственный художественно технический институт) со званием художника-полиграфиста. Начал преподавать в изостудии Фрунзенского отдела народного образования Москвы, на этнологическом факультете МГУ имени М. В. Ломоносова. В 1928 году участвовал во Всесоюзной полиграфической выставке.

В 1929-1930 годах — доцент Ленинградского Высшего государственного художественно технического института. В 1930—1934 годах — доцент Московского полиграфического института. В 1934—1938 годах — доцент Московского государственного академического художественного института имени В. И. Сурикова.

Во время Великой Отечественной войны (1941—1945) служил в рядах Рабоче-Крестьянской Красной Армии. Работал выпускающим редактором и художником в журнале «Фронтовой юмор» (издание 3-го Белорусского фронта), а затем главным художником выставки «Политработа в частях 3-го Белорусского фронта».

В 1947—1948 годах преподавал в Московском центральном художественно-промышленном училище на факультете монументальной живописи. В 1948—1979 годах преподавал в Московском полиграфическом институте, где с 1950 по 1974 год заведовал кафедрой рисунка и живописи. В 1958 году Гончарову присвоено звание профессора. В 1959 году Гончаров создал четыре главных панно для советской выставки в Нью-Йорке. В 1960 году вышла в свет книга А. Д. Гончарова «Об искусстве графики», а в 1964 году — книга «Художник и книга». В 1971—1979 годах Гончаров занимал пост председателя жюри Всесоюзного ежегодного конкурса «Искусство книги». Член-корреспондент АХ СССР (1973).

А. Д. Гончаров умер 6 июня 1979 года в Москве.

Галерея работ
lot 53. «Страна Советов», Гончаров Андрей Дмитриевич.

lot 53. «Страна Советов»

Гончаров Андрей Дмитриевич

Аукцион № 3

цветная ксилография, 7.5х14 см, пробный оттиск, 1930-е

Стартовая цена: 1 000 

lot 71. «Эскизы 3-х рисунков к книге Федерико Гарсиа Лорка «Избранная лирика»», Гончаров Андрей Дмитриевич.

lot 71. «Эскизы 3-х рисунков к книге Федерико Гарсиа Лорка «Избранная лирика»»

Гончаров Андрей Дмитриевич

Аукцион № 3

бумага, тушь, акварель, 1958

Стартовая цена: 6 000 

lot 59. «Иллюстрация к «Фаусту»», Гончаров Андрей Дмитриевич.

lot 59. «Иллюстрация к «Фаусту»»

Гончаров Андрей Дмитриевич

Аукцион № 4

ксилография, 14х9 см, 1953

Стартовая цена: 1 500 

1