Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Nikolai Ilyich Kofanov (May 22, 1943, Gorky Region - December 30, 1998, St. Petersburg) - Soviet-Russian artist, illustrator, bookplate artist. Nikolai Kofanov was born on May 22, 1943 in the village of Osetrovo, Gorky Region of the RSFSR, spent his childhood in the city of Gorky (Nizhny Novgorod). From 1959 to 1961 he studied at the Gorky Art College at the Department of Painting, from 1965 to 1970 - at the Leningrad State University at the Faculty of Philology. From 1970 to 1978 he lived in the city of Kemerovo, after which he moved to Leningrad.

Since 1971 he took part in exhibitions. Since 1984 he was a member of the Union of Artists of Russia. Having studied one of the first in the USSR silk-screen printing technique, from 1985 to 1990 he taught it at the graphic department of the Academy of Fine Arts. I.E. Repin. He worked in the field of circulation graphics using the technique of woodcut, etching, lithography, silk screen printing, linocut and color linocut.

Nikolai Kofanov created about 300 bookplates. He authored about 40 books and mini books, although he always sought to become a freelance artist. Its distinctive and «city landscapes full of inner light» gained fame as the «Kofanov North Palmyra». Nikolay Kofanov is the author of engraving cycles such as Siberian Motifs, Days of Creation, Dostoevsky Petersburg, Literary Places of Petersburg, and The Legend of the City of Kitezh. Being a deeply religious person, he performed a number of works on religious subjects. In 1994, at the invitation of a Russian Orthodox monastery, exhibited his works in Los Angeles.

The series «Legend of the City of Kitezh» occupies a significant place in the creative activity of Nikolai Kofanov. Linocuts of this cycle were presented at many exhibitions, and Nikolai himself wrote in his diary:

When I work on Kitezh, my thoughts leave not only the past, but also the future: how will this legend live in Russia, in Europe, on the planet? Not a text written in the 17th century by the Old Believers, but the very concept, symbol, uniting Russia and the Russian character.

Nikolai Kofanov also engaged in literary activity: he wrote stories, novels, articles about art, literary studies and scientific works. In 1993, in St. Petersburg, he published the essays «Untie the knots of memory». The following year, in a collection of works by the University of Syktyvkar, he published a literary study entitled «Color in the Works of L. Andreev and in the Painting of Expressionists».

At the end of his life, Nikolai suffered a stroke, received a disability pension. His art workshop burned down, and in the fire many of the works that had begun and were already completed were lost. Nikolai Kofanov died on December 30, 1998. He was buried at the Kovalevsky cemetery in St. Petersburg.

Gallery of patterns
It is sold for: 3 500 
lot 50. «White Night on the Neva», Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich.

lot 50. «White Night on the Neva»

Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Аукцион № 6

colored linocut, 35x51 cm, 1989

Start price: 3 500 

It is sold for: 2 500 
lot 51. «Arrow of Vasilyevsky Island», Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich.

lot 51. «Arrow of Vasilyevsky Island»

Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Аукцион № 6

etching, 22.2x24.4, 1986

Start price: 2 500 

lot 67. «Savior on the Blood», Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich.

lot 67. «Savior on the Blood»

Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Аукцион № 7

author's lithograph, 18x12.5 cm

Start price: 1 000 

lot 84. «Uglich», Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich.

lot 84. «Uglich»

Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Аукцион № 7

color linocut, 12x15 cm, 1989

Start price: 1 200 

lot 86. «Churches», Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich.

lot 86. «Churches»

Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Аукцион № 7

color linocut, 11.5x15 cm, 1989

Start price: 1 200 

lot 142. «Palace Square», Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich.

lot 142. «Palace Square»

Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Аукцион № 12

linocut, 31.5x83.5 cm, 1990s

Start price: 5 000 

«Sergiev Posad», Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich.

lot 56. «Sergiev Posad»

Kofanov Nikolay Ilyich

Аукцион № 14

color linocut, 27.7x21.5 cm, 1980

Start price: 1 500 

1

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Николай Ильич Кофанов (22 мая 1943, Горьковская область — 30 декабря 1998, Санкт-Петербург) — советский-российский художник, иллюстратор, экслибрисист. Николай Кофанов родился 22 мая 1943 года в деревне Осетрово Горьковской области РСФСР, провёл детство в городе Горьком (Нижний Новгород). С 1959 по 1961 год учился в Горьковском художественном училище на отделении живописи, с 1965 по 1970 год — в Ленинградском государственном университете на факультете филологии. С 1970 по 1978 год проживал в городе Кемерово, после чего переехал в Ленинград.

C 1971 года принимал участие в выставках. С 1984 года являлся членом Союза художников России. Изучив одним из первых в СССР технику шёлкографии, с 1985 по 1990 год преподавал её на графическом факультете Академии художеств им. И. Е. Репина. Работал в области тиражной графики, используя технику ксилографии, офорта, литографии, шелкографии, линогравюры и цветной линогравюры.

Николай Кофанов создал около 300 экслибрисов. Являлся автором оформления приблизительно 40 книг и миникниг, хотя всегда стремился стать свободным художником. Его самобытные и «полные внутреннего света городские пейзажи» получили известность, как «кофановская северная пальмира». Николай Кофанов — автор циклов гравюр, таких как «Сибирские мотивы», «Дни творения», «Петербург Достоевского», «Литературные места Петербурга», «Легенда о граде Китеже». Будучи глубоко верующим человеком, выполнил ряд работ на религиозную тематику. В 1994 году по приглашению русского православного монастыря выставлял свои работы в Лос-Анджелесе.

Цикл «Легенда о граде Китеже» занимает значимое место в творческой деятельности Николая Кофанова. Линогравюры этого цикла были представлены на многих выставках, а сам Николай писал в своём дневнике:

Когда работаю над «Китежем», я ухожу мыслями не только в прошлое, но и в будущее: как дальше будет жить эта легенда на Руси, в Европе, на планете? Не текст, написанный в XVII веке старообрядцами, а само понятие, символ, объединяющий Россию и русский характер.

Николай Кофанов также занимался литературной деятельностью: писал рассказы, повести, статьи об искусстве, литературоведческие исследования и научные работы. В 1993 году в Санкт-Петербурге издал сочинения «Развязать узелки памяти». В следующем году в сборнике работ Сыктывкарского университета им было издано литературоведческое исследование «Цвет в произведениях Л. Андреева и в живописи экспрессионистов».

В конце жизни Николай перенёс инсульт, получал пенсию по инвалидности. Его художественная мастерская сгорела, и в огне были утрачены многие из начатых и уже законченных работ. Скончался Николай Кофанов 30 декабря 1998 года. Похоронен на Ковалёвском кладбище Санкт-Петербурга.

Галерея работ
Продано за: 3 500 
lot 50. «Белая ночь на Неве», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 50. «Белая ночь на Неве»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 6

цветная линогравюра, 35х51 см, 1989

Стартовая цена: 3 500 

Продано за: 2 500 
lot 51. «Стрелка Васильевского острова», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 51. «Стрелка Васильевского острова»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 6

офорт, 22.2х24.4, 1986

Стартовая цена: 2 500 

lot 67. «Спас на Крови», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 67. «Спас на Крови»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 7

авторская литография, 18х12.5 см

Стартовая цена: 1 000 

lot 84. «Углич», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 84. «Углич»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 7

цветная линогравюра, 12х15 см, 1989

Стартовая цена: 1 200 

lot 86. «Церкви», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 86. «Церкви»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 7

цветная линогравюра, 11.5х15 см, 1989

Стартовая цена: 1 200 

lot 142. «Дворцовая площадь», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 142. «Дворцовая площадь»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 12

линогравюра, 31.5х83.5 см, 1990-е

Стартовая цена: 5 000 

«Сергиев посад», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 56. «Сергиев посад»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 14

цветная линогравюра, 27.7х21.5 см, 1980

Стартовая цена: 1 500 

«1000 - летие крещения Руси», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 190. «1000 - летие крещения Руси»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 19

цветная линогравюра, лист: 23.5х22.5 см, оттиск: 15.5х14 см, 1988

Стартовая цена: 2 000 

«На Загородном», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 217. «На Загородном»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 20

цветная линогравюра, лист: 20х18.5 см, оттиск: 13.5х10.5 см, 1980-е

Стартовая цена: 2 000 

«Набережная канала», Кофанов Николай Ильич.

lot 218. «Набережная канала»

Кофанов Николай Ильич

Аукцион № 20

цветная линогравюра, лист: 24х19.5 см, оттиск: 17х12.5 см, 1980-е

Стартовая цена: 2 000 

1